Sectarianism in Pakistan and Beyond

Sectarianism in Pakistan and Beyond


This week’s video from IHRC chair Massoud Shadjareh discuss this topical issue. Watch the video below and find details of the Universal Justice Network’s work on sectarianism in Pakistan below, including the Pakistan Unity Declaration of 2013.

Unity Declaration

Read the text of the UJN Pakistan Unity Declaration also known as the Bodrum Declaration, signed on 23 Dhul Huijjah 1434 / 28 October 2013, Bodrum, Turkey.

The signatories were:

Massoud Shadjareh (Chair, IHRC) and Mohideen Abdul Kader  (Director, Citizens International) for Universal Justice Network.

Sahibzada Muhammad Hamid Raza (Sunni Ittehad Council)

Allama Ibtisam Elahi Zaheer (Jamiat Ahle Hadith Pakistan)

Allama Syed Niaz Hussain Shah (Hoza Ilmia Jamia Al Muntazar)

Allama Mohammad Sadiq Qureshi (Minhaj ul Quran International)

Maulana Syed Ali Murtaza Zaidi (Jamay Imamia)

Liaqat Baloch, MP (Jammat – e – Islami Pakistan)

Muhammad Sarwat Ejaz Qadri (Pakistan Sunni Tahreek)


Watch videos of the signing of the declaration and the recitation of Dua Wahdah by the signatories below. More resources follow the videos.

Signing of the Bodrum Declaration

Dua Wahdah by the participants



Press Release

Press Release: Pakistani leaders sign historic anti-sectarianism declaration

Media Coverage

Latest Articles